Book Review: Ruins by Dan Wells

 

Image

 

Kira’s desperate journey to find two cures and save the world continues in this third installment. Not only is her path to success unclear and fraught with obstacles, but her heart is pulling her in two different directions. She thought her destiny was to save the world — can she do it?

This is a thrilling continuation of a series ripe with suspense and littered with plot twists. Dan Wells’ clear and compelling style draws you into read and re-read. In his realistic, dystopian world, primal emotions splash across pages to excite any with a love of action. Recommended for ages 11 and up.

Reviewed by Marissa, grade 11.

Book Review: Moonset by Scott Tracey

Image

 

A group of wizards were born to the rogue band Moonset during a war. Now they are in the hands of the government. I liked the way it tied in the present and the past very well with anecdotes about Moonset and for instance, with Justin finding the scrapbook. Though I didn’t like that some things were not tied in during character development, I would still recommend this book to those who like fantasy books and like dark settings. I rate it 5 stars – I love it!

Reviewed by Spencer, grade 7

Book Review: Crewel by Gennifer Albin

Image

Adelice has been able to manipulate time and matter since she was young, but has been desperately hiding her abilities to avoid being called by the government to work as a Spinster. One slip later, she’s at the Conventry, manipulating the Weave that runs the world of Arras. But things are not what they seem and Adelice knows she must escape. With her every move monitored and her loved ones held captive, how will she manage?

This novel was creative and unique, with many plot twists. The emotional struggle Adelice faced was realistic and easy to relate to. The only thing I dislike about this book is that I have to wait for book 2! I’d recommend that every person 12 and up who enjoys reading sci-fi/fantasy/romances read this book.

Reviewed by Marissa, grade 10

Book Review: Black City by Elizabeth Richards

Image

Natalie should hate Ash. He is a Darkling and she is Sentry. Her father’s brutal murder by Darklings scarred her deeply, yet she doesn’t hate him. She loves him, though society and her own instinct doesn’t approve. When harsh new laws loom that could separate them, will their unorthodox love survive? Will they?

This book has a clever and imaginative plot that twists the usual star-crossed lovers angle. However, the romance seemed too fast-paced. It’s unreasonable that a girl would change her mindset about Darklings after one day and that detracted from the story.

That being said, I would still recommend it to an audience 12 and up. The ending hints at another book and I eagerly await it!

Reviewed by Marissa, grade 10

Book Review: Along the Watchtower by Constance Squires

Image

Army Brat Lucinda Collins is the daughter of Major Jack Collins. This novel tells of Lucinda’s travels, both physical and emotional and how rock and roll shapes her life. Engrossing and heartfelt, this is a revealing look into the army family’s life, mixed with a deluge of great music. I couldn’t put this book down. Lucinda’s story was touching, humorous and poignant, all wrapped with a rock and roll ribbon. I would recommend this to readers 14 and older.

Reviewed by Marissa, grade 10

Book Review: Prodigy by Marie Lu

Image

 

I loved EVERYTHING about this book! Especially the ending! There’s action, suspense, tension between Day and June. This book is AMAZING! Marie Lu is truly an amazing author I really hope she writes more. I adore her and all her books. Legend and Prodigy are a MUST read. (Note: This review refers to a pre-publication galley. Prodigy due out January 2013.)

Reviewed by Maggie B., grade 6

Book Review: Son by Lois Lowry

 

 

 

 

 

This is a must-read for fans of Lois Lowry.  A clever and seamless combination of The Giver and Gathering Blue, both by Lois Lowry, this novel ties all loose ends into a neat, astounding, satisfying bundle. While I would strongly recommend reading both preceding books before this one, it is by no means necessary. I cannot say much regarding characters for fear of ruining a pleasant surprise for readers of The Giver and Gathering Blue, but new and old characters are found in Son, each and every one strong, well-defined, and identifiable. The only passing complaint I have is one character-The Tradesmaster-is more fantastical than usual, which I feel detracts from the overall realistic feeling of the books. Other than that, I found this to be an engrossing and thought-provoking read, which is true to form for Lois Lowry. I would, and will, recommend this book to any and everyone.

Reviewed by Marissa, grade 10