Book Review of LITTLE BROTHER by Cory Doctorow

Reviewed by a Summer Learning Program participant

littlebrother

Ultimately, this book frustrated me. I was really excited to read it, and though the idea of the book intrigued me, I was met with mediocre story telling, which really sucked because the importance of privacy and cyber security are things that I am passionate about. But I found all the characters to be flat, the secondary characters only there when convenient to solve a problem and disappearing when they weren’t needed for extremely long periods within the book. The dialogue was very frequently not very realistic and I felt that the main character did not really have a much of a personality, just being another pawn to get the ultimate message across. It is apparent that this book is agenda driven, and although it is an agenda that I can strongly get behind, the whole book felt more like a first draft. However, I can’t help but recommend it for the sake of the eye opening ideals outlined within it that will leave you thinking.

Leave a Reply

