Book Review: Son by Lois Lowry

 

 

 

 

 

This is a must-read for fans of Lois Lowry.  A clever and seamless combination of The Giver and Gathering Blue, both by Lois Lowry, this novel ties all loose ends into a neat, astounding, satisfying bundle. While I would strongly recommend reading both preceding books before this one, it is by no means necessary. I cannot say much regarding characters for fear of ruining a pleasant surprise for readers of The Giver and Gathering Blue, but new and old characters are found in Son, each and every one strong, well-defined, and identifiable. The only passing complaint I have is one character-The Tradesmaster-is more fantastical than usual, which I feel detracts from the overall realistic feeling of the books. Other than that, I found this to be an engrossing and thought-provoking read, which is true to form for Lois Lowry. I would, and will, recommend this book to any and everyone.

Reviewed by Marissa, grade 10